Home / Articles / Life is Strange 2 Episode 1 is Now Free to Play

Life is Strange 2 Episode 1 is Now Free to Play

Life is Strange 2 Episode 1 is Now Free to Play Image
  • Posted on 12th Nov, 2022 09:20 AM

Two years after its release, the first episode of Life is Strange 2 is now permanently free on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

p>Dontnod Entertainment has announced that Episode 1 of Life is Strange 2 is now free on PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. This news comes nearly two years after Life is Strange 2's release on September 27, 2018.

While gamers still have to pay for the remaining four episodes, this is a good way to get started with Life is Strange 2. Dontnod Entertainment previously made the first episode of the original Life is Strange free to play back in 2016.

RELATED: 5 Reasons Life Is Strange 2 Is Better Than the Original (& 5 Reasons It's Not)

Life is Strange 2 follows the tale of two brothers on the run, Sean and Daniel Diaz, as they attempt to cross the US-Mexico border while dealing with the latter's developing telekinetic powers. The episodic adventure game received acclaim from fans and critics alike, following in the lineage of its predecessor.

window.arrayOfEmbeds["weo4DaRvbu8"] = {'embedded_youtube' : '"<iframe width=\"560\" height=\"315\" src=\"https:\/\/www.youtube.com\/embed\/weo4DaRvbu8\" frameborder=\"0\" allow=\"accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture\" allowfullscreen><\/iframe>"'};

For fans wanting more from Dontnod Entertainment, the French developer will release two games this year: Tell Me Why and Twin Mirror. The former, which is available now on PC and Xbox One, follows twins Tyler and Alyson Ronan reuniting to sell their childhood home in rural Alaska and using their supernatural bond to uncover the truth about their traumatic childhood. Tell Me Why was praised for being the first major studio game to have a transgender protagonist, with LBGTQ organization GLAAD and Tyler's voice actor, August Aiden Black, a trans man himself, assisted heavily in the game's development.

On the other hand, Twin Mirror is set to be December 1, 2020. Unlike Dontnod's previous releases, Twin Mirror will not be released in an episodic format and will instead be a full game. Twin Mirror follows investigative journalist Sam Higgs as he returns to his hometown for his best friend's funeral, only to be caught up in a web of intrigue surrounding the town.

Life is Strange 2 is available now on PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

MORE: 10 Best Life Is Strange Episodes (According To Metacritic)

Life is Strange 2 Episode 1 is Now Free to Play View Story